Tuesday, March 15, 2011

Telugu films should appeal to Intellectuals & Society

Make films that appeal to intellectuals, society'

In an era of growing film award functions that have become a show of glamour, the awards given out by A.P. Cinegoers' Association stand out.

The awards function held on Sunday was thankfully not dominated by glamour and it was a stage where performers were given more importance. The Andhra Pradesh Cinegoers' Association's 39th and 40th annual film awards presentation programme held at the Lalithakala Thoranam was memorable for the film lovers as they were able to see the stars of different eras on the same stage.

Former Minister K. Rosaiah inaugurated the programme, while Parliamentary Standing Committee Chairman T. Subbarami Reddy was the chief guest. Yesteryear actress Gitanjali and Nandamuri Balakrishna made their way on to the stage amidst applause from the gathering. There was a huge roar at the venue when Nandamuri Balakrishna's name was announced for the best actor award for ‘Pandurangadu' film for the year 2008.

Dasari Narayana Rao bagged the best actor award for ‘Mestri' film for the year 2009.Mr. Rosaiah felicitated ace film producer D. Rama Naidu and presented Sobhan Babu Memorial Award to him. Actors Murali Mohan, Gitanjali and Vijay Chander were presented with Life Time Achievement awards.

Addressing on the occasion, Mr. Rosaiah said such programmes should be organised regularly as they boost the confidence of artistes.

T. Subbarami Reddy urged actors and producers to emphasise on quality in movies rather spending crores of rupees on the films.

He further said the Telugu industry was not bagging national awards and it was time for directors and actors to introspect and make films that appeal to the intellectuals and the society too.

No comments:

Post a Comment